Stuck in Neutral, on One big hill

Life has not been the same since attending Center Pointe last April. Every Sunday Ray seems as though he has delivered a message that was intended directly for me. Every Sunday I feel like I have left Church fulfilled and overflowing with more joy than I go into church with. Lately though, even after all of that I have felt like by Tuesday I am wishing it is Sunday so I can get some more of that good stuff. The Sunday before last Ray preached on giving God His time first. So I promptly started doing this and the results have been amazing. I have felt like His word is influencing me in a whole new way, BUT and this is a BIG BUT. I still feel empty regarding church, I do not know what it is, I don’t know why things are this way, but I just feel like I am on an island in the middle of the Artic Ocean. Cold, alone, slightly depressed, and seperated from the love of God and from the new christians that He has put into my life. Diana and I came from a church where we had relationships with one family out of 50. Upon coming to Center Pointe we quickly started building new relationships with almost everyone, but that too has seemed like they are fading fast and I am not sure why it seems this way to me, but God can not be intending for this to happen ……or can He? If it is a test, I don’t want to take it, because I know I will fail. It truly has me questioning my place at Center Pointe as well as my place in church in general. I have friends who have been in church all their lives and when faced with similar circumstances they left the church and started a church in their home that has grown into one of the biggest churches in Southwest Ohio. I am not saying that I want to leave Center Pointe and start a church by all means my walk with God is not that strong. All I am saying is that God needs to offer me some serious profound direction for me before I fall apart in all of this. God I need you to show me what is you have for me and what direction it will take me. My heart is to follow You no matter where it is You will have me go. I am the clay in Your hands mold me and make me who You want me to be and place me where you want me to be at. If it is Center Pointe….great….If it is somewhere else, light the way, and I will follow!

5 Comments

  1. Wow! You wrote this perfectly. It hurts to even think of leaving CP with all that we get out of it. It has opened our hearts to a love we never thought we would have. We have learned and grown alot in the past 9 months. And in many ways CPers have been closer than family. We didnt just find a Church, we found a family. Although it feels as though we have lost many good friends, we also still have them all around us. I dont know what God has in store for us. But I do know that no matter what, I will be there right by your side holding your hand. I love you.

  2. Wow I really don’t know what to say. I don’t want to think about you guys leaving CP. I love you guys and would surely miss ya at church. I could tell that you were struggling lately and I have been praying for you, and I pray that you will talk to God and choose the path that God leads you down.

  3. Scott, I’ll have to agree with you that since I’ve attended Center Point, life hasn’t been the same for me either…it has been AWESOME! P-Ray always finds a way to deliver a message where it sticks with me and I feel very fulfilled when I leave every Sunday. I find that if I keep my eyes in the Bible all week long and study more in God’s word, then I can stay fulfilled all week long. You can have that “Sunday feeling” all week long if you work for it. I know there are bad days, God has given me my fair share of them, but you have to keep your head up. It also helps to spend time with other people from church…like in small groups. I have enjoyed our small group so much and I love how we can learn about one another and study P-Ray’s sermon. I don’t know if God can intend for your relationships to fade away. God knows what he is doing, but I don’t think He would want us to run away from the problems. You cannot have the mind set that you are going to fail at one of God’s tests. You must pray about it and ask for guidence. I will be praying for your whole family. I hope that God will show His Will to you. Moving to another church is not always the answer, you just have to pray about it…but I will pray and support you in whatever decision you make. Just please don’t rush and make a decision based on feelings. I hope that my very long comment will get you to think about what is going on around you. Just know that I will be praying for you and your family. God will show you what to do.

  4. Here is the thing regarding the way I feel. It is not like I want to leave Center Pointe. I love it there, but directions and God’s will for us changes, I am in His word and I believe He has something amazing to show me through it. I think that God is up to something and His plan for me is changing. I do not know exactly what He has planned yet, but my heart is not in it as much as it should be. Small Groups is fun, but it is not meeting my needs, maybe because I have not been the leader I need to be in it, and that may have to do with how I feel about other areas of my life! I am at a crossroads with God and myself, and we all know how that turns out. Growing in Him is all that I yearn for, and it is happening, just in a different way than I expected. The last thing I want to do is start over at another church. That is the last of my intentions. I just need some me and God time to see what His will is for me.

  5. Scott, Been where you are…. just a little advice, take it or leave it. Where you are and what you are feeling has nothing to do with where you go or don’t go to church. It has everything to do with where you are in your walk the other 6 days of the week. The “church” is the place where you find people of like mind, thoughts and beliefs that love you and will stand with you during tough times and will also call you out on areas that need attention. They are people that you know will stand with you and your family without judgement. The things that you described in your blog are personal, and are issues that point to either God working to purify and work out sin and there resistance or there is rebellion, eithier intentional or not. There may be greater plans that He is preparing you for. Frankly the last thing you need to do for yourself or family is to make another move. When God is rsady to move someone… they know it. It doesn’t usually happen while they are “stuck on one big hill”. Following His will takes patience and learning to wait on Him rather than think and make decisions for Him. Love You All, Pastor Ray


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment